Life With Yarn

Work in progress Wednesday

Posted on: May 16, 2012

I used to be a monogamous knitter – one project a time, working just on that until it was completed. But that seems to have gone out the window these days. Right now, I have 4 projects in various states of progress, plus a couple of ideas noodling round in my head that I need to get down on paper and swatch for.

So on the needles right now are two socks; one is almost completed, it’s a mystery sock & I’m just waiting for the final clue next Tuesday morning so I can finish it off. The second sock has half of the foot done. It’s not that I’m not liking the sock, I am & the yarn, but it’s from a book and I find it a faff to have to have enough space to lay the book out so I can read the chart – not an easy thing with a 21-mth old climbing all over you, the sofa and anything that keeps still long enough.

I also have a skirt for my eldest. This is my own design, done to fulfill her need for a twirly pink skirt. It’s almost done but it doesn’t look great in progress – my husband called it the tentacle thing last night. I just need to do the final 20 rows and cast it off and then block it so it looks a lot less tentacly and a lot more twirly. I hope the design’s worked & that she likes it. I need to do a slight rewrite on the pattern and then a lot of maths for the different sizes so I can get it test knit and hopefully released at some point.

Finally, I have a Christmas stocking in hibernation. Again, own design, but for my youngest. I actually started it last autumn and then Christmas present knitting got out of hand (as always) and it got pushed back with the argument that youngest was only 16 months at Christmas, she’d not notice. But she will this year and I need to get on with it over the summer. This design has already been released so I’m hoping it’ll be popular this year.

In my head, I have a shawl idea that I’m still imagining and another possible idea for a competition which I really need to get on with if I’m going to submit it by the end of the month. But with a big job coming up in my other work, I’m not sure I’ll have the time to get it swatched, written and knitted in time. Sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day.

1 Response to "Work in progress Wednesday"

That’s great that you have so many different types of projects to keep you busy. I rarely just have one wip – my ADHD gets aggravated if I can’t switch what I’m working on when I get ‘bored’. I’m currently working up the second sample of my American Girl Doll bathrobe, have started trying to learn to knit socks by casting on some sock yarn on tiny new needles, and just frogged an entirely finished scarf for my sister when I decided that I didn’t like the way it looked.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 457 other followers

Photobucket

Recent tweets

