Life With Yarn

What I did with my weekend

Posted on: May 21, 2012

I’ve had a lovely few crafty days as well as spending time with my family. I finished a non-knitting piece of work on Thursday (the work that actually helps pay the bills), which gave me a couple of days off before the next project arrived. So on Friday I spent time finishing off the skirt for my eldest. Here it is blocking:

Image

This morning, I weaved all the ends in and added some buttons so tonight it’ll be modelled when eldest gets home from school. I really hope she likes it. Then it’s pattern writing and sizing.

I’ve also been working on my socks. The final mystery clue arrives in the morning, so I’ve been devoting time to the other pair, which are now nearly finished. Hopefully I can get a couple of photos of them up tomorrow or Wednesday. I also wanted to share a photo of a blanket I recently knit for my friend’s second baby. I posted it to her last week and it’s now just waiting for baby to arrive.

Image

I also got some new books over the weekend, thanks to my lovely husband and an Amazon certificate from our anniversary. Included in the haul were 2 knitting books: Knitting on the Edge by Nicky Epstein and Around the World in Knitted Socks by Stephanie Van Der Linden. There are some lovely patterns in the sock book which I can’t wait to tackle – colourwork in the round is a challenge at times for me so I definitely need the practice, and Nicky Epstein’s book has already sparked a few ideas for future designs.

I have a big work project about to land which may mean my knitting is reduced in the next couple of weeks but hopefully there’ll be time for some more photos and a couple of new cast ons all the same.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 457 other followers

Photobucket

Recent tweets

