Life With Yarn

Pattern math (or what I did with my Sunday afternoon)

Posted on: June 11, 2012

I finally have photos of the new skirt!

Image

Image

So with the photos, I had no real excuse to delay the pattern writing and grading part of it all. This is the first time I’ve ever done a garment and graded it, so Sunday afternoon was a steep learning curve. The first thing I learned was that my daughter is an odd size, so my sample/her skirt didn’t fit neatly into one size, so I had to work out the numbers for all three sizes. It took a couple of hours and a little bit of muttering, but it is finally done. I need to type it all up this week and then see about getting it tested.

I do find myself nervous about this pattern, far more than the others I’ve done so far. I wouldn’t go anywhere near calling myself a designer right now – I’ve released one paid for pattern (a personalised Christmas stocking) and 2 freebies on Ravelry. The freebies are fairly straightforward patterns and that makes them safe, in some strange way. But the skirt is something I came up with for my daughter. She loves it, but, to be honest, it’s pink and she’s 5, it was always going to work. It’s whether other people will love it enough to knit it that has me stressed. I always wanted to be a fashion designer as a child, right up until my A-level art teacher told me I wasn’t unique enough and didn’t dress uniquely enough to be any kind of designer. Nice dream-crushing, right? I guess it comes down to that.

In the meantime, socks are still flying off the needles. Another pair finished yesterday, another one should be finished by Wednesday night at the latest. Then it’s more socks and then I’m going to start thinking about *whispers* Christmas knitting.

2 Responses to "Pattern math (or what I did with my Sunday afternoon)"

CAN NOT believe your teacher said that to you. AWFUL!
You designed and knitted this skirt your self? Sooooo impressed!
You write beautifully, I’ve enjoyed reading all these crafty posts!

Thank you. Yes, the skirt was designed & knit by me. Am hoping to release the pattern at some point in the next couple of months.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 457 other followers

Photobucket

Recent tweets

