Life With Yarn

Ready, steady, go!

Posted on: July 28, 2012

So last night saw the start of the Olympic Games in London. There’s a definite buzz about the country at the moment and I am very much looking forward to going to the one event we have tickets for – the men’s football quarterfinal at St James’ Park up here in Newcastle next Saturday. Not only do I get to go to an actual Olympic event but I also get to see lots of my family, so it’s all good.

Of course, if you’re a member of Ravelry, you can’t help but also know that the opening ceremony last night also heralded the start of the Ravellenic Games, where knitters, crocheters, spinners, dyers & weavers challenge themselves to complete projects whilst watching the Olympics. This is the first time I’ve taken part and have enjoyed planning the projects for it. I shall be starting my first project later today – I would have cast on last night but I still have one small bit of my nephew’s present to complete so I wanted to make sure that was done first so it wouldn’t get neglected for the new projects. No photos of the present yet because it’s not quite finished, but I also don’t want to spoil the surprise for my brother and sister-in-law, so photos will follow when they have it.

As for my Ravellenic projects? They involve 2 shawls, completing Eloise’s Christmas stocking (which I started last November), frogging a cardigan where the yarn doesn’t really suit the style, and dyeing the yarn for the Christmas present of one of my sisters. That feels like quite a lot in 2 weeks, but the frogging and dyeing shouldn’t take a massive amount of time (she says, hopefully).

I do have photos of some other recently finished projects. Firstly, an Elizabeth cardigan by Georgie Hallam

 

 

I also managed to find the time and space to block Rock Island by Jared Flood:

I love how both have turned out, especially Rock Island, I am looking forward to wearing that – albeit carefully, I don’t really want to have to wash it and block it again on a regular basis.

Once the Olympics are over, I can start thinking about what knitting to take on holiday (as big a task as deciding which books to pack in this house!) and start that Christmas gift knitting as well.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 457 other followers

Photobucket

Recent tweets

