Life With Yarn

(re)start something Sunday

Posted on: August 18, 2013

I’ve let this blog languish over the last few months; largely unintentionally – I’ve written posts in my head but never managed to find the time to get them down on the computer. But then this post by my friend Liz made me think about why I’d started my blog in the first place and what I wanted from it. I do enjoy writing the (very occasional) posts and I know I should write more. In the last few months, I’ve discovered the world of podcasts and now listen to a number of knitting related ones (as well as some non-knitting ones) and whilst I’m not planning on starting a podcast any time soon, I’ve decided to take on board the idea of splitting up my posts into different sections. I’m hoping that it’ll help me get back into the habit of writing. So here we go.

On the needles

Tonight, I only have 2 long-term projects on the needles. Firstly, my sock yarn blanket which I started back in June 2012. I’ve always intended this to be a long term project and it’s something that I leave for a while and then pick up and work like crazy on for 2/3 days before putting down again. Maybe next winter it’ll be ready, but certainly not this one. It’s currently 3 rows of 26 mitred squares using my sock yarn scraps, of which I have many. I love the randomness of it and when it’s done, it’ll cover all 4 of us on the sofa.

Secondly, my Mandala shawl, designed by Renee Leverington, the truly amazing shawl designer behind Goddess Knits. I started this last December and have frogged and restarted it at least 3 times now. But I am on the final chart and after that only have the edging to go. Hopefully, this will be finished in another month before the weather gets too cold and wet so I can block it outside – it should be approx 60″ in diameter and I don’t have a big enough indoor space.

Off the needles

I’ve been quite busy in the last couple of weeks and have managed to finish 4 things so far this month. Two tops were for Zoe – Charlotta by Jade Fletcher in Sublime Organic Cotton with Manos Silk Blend stripes. She loves this, despite the crazy face in the photo!

Image

 

Second up for Zoe, the Fair Weather Tee by Katya Frankel in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino. It’s a bit big on my skinny little girl but at least she’ll get plenty of wear from it.

Image

 

Also off the needles, for Eloise, the Spring Garden top by Alana Dakos in Wendy Cotton DK. 

Image

 

Finally, something for me, the Amerind Cowl by Sarah Wilson, in Rowan Calmer. I love the softness of Rowan Calmer and every time I use it, I mourn that it is discontinued. I can often be found stalking stashes on Ravelry for people selling it and seeing if I can stretch to buying some more.

Image

 

Stalking

For the last couple of months, I’ve been stalking the finished projects for three shawls: Celestarium, Southern Skies & Shipwreck. I love all three and have been wanting to start them for months but it took me until Woolfest 2013, at the end of June, to find the perfect yarn for each. I actually dyed the yarn for both Celestarium & Southern Skies myself – both are a gorgeous blue, one slightly darker than the other, and I think with silver-lined beads for the stars, they will look amazing. But I can only handle one large circular shawl at a time, so Mandala must be finished before I can cast any of these on.

What’s in the sketch book?

I’ve been a bit slack recently but I have a sock pattern virtually written in draft form, I just need the impetus to write it up properly and get it tested. I have already knit a slightly different version so also need to knit another version just to make sure it works.

Where’s my bookmark?

Not knitting related, but I am currently reading Val McDermid’s The Mermaids Singing. I’m about 100 pages in and loving it but not getting a lot of time to read. I often find that when my knitting hits a low spot, I read an awful lot more than usual, but right now knitting is taking up slightly more time.

Family life

My youngest daughter, Eloise, celebrated her 3rd birthday last week. I remain in slight shock that she is already 3 and starts nursery/pre-school next month. There are times when she seems staggeringly grown up, but then she’ll crawl sleepily into our bed each night and she is still my baby. We are mid school holidays here so we’ve had Zoe at home as well. They adore and fight with each other in almost equal measure – luckily the adoring outweighs the fighting, although some days it is close! We spent the last week on holiday with another family and it was lovely to get away, even if it was only for 5 days. However, no matter how lovely the holiday, there is always something satisfying about sleeping in your own bed again.

I’ve had rather more to say than I expected. I’ve love your feedback – what do you want more of/less of?

Tags: ,

1 Response to "(re)start something Sunday"

What lovely things you’re making for your girls – really enjoy seeing the photos!

Leave a Reply

