Life With Yarn

Many hands

Posted on: September 9, 2013

On the needles

I actually have a lot on the needles this week – I could definitely do with many hands to get through everything. I’m slowly working through the edging for Mandala; I’ve done 4.5 sections out of 12. It’s not got a lot of time devoted to it this week but also, weirdly, I’m not feeling much love for it right now. I am so excited about seeing how it looks and I’ve sworn not to start another circular shawl until this one is off the needles but I’m just struggling to get the edging done. It’s taking a lot longer to do each bit than I thought it would which doesn’t help.

I also cast on for Starling this week, a laceweight cardigan, which I’m going to do in Austermann Merino Lace. It is intended to be part of a teal colour knit a long and I could also enter it into a sweater/cardigan knit a long if I can finish it by the end of September. But right now I’ve done about 5 rows and it is way down the list of projects.

The lack of love for my own knitting is because I’m doing two different samples for two designers. First up I’m working on a number of colourwork swatches for a designer which are due to be returned later this week. At the same time, I’m working on a shawl sample for a favourite designer of mine, Anniken Allis. Obviously I can’t show pics or discuss either of these pieces in detail, but they are getting my time this week. I love sample knitting – being paid to do something I’d be doing anyway is great and fulfills my yarn needs but this week has been a bit crazy because I underestimated how long the colourwork bits would take. But it’s all good and everything will be completed on time and then it’s all about finishing Mandala and cracking on with the cardigan.

Due to the sample knitting, I’ve not finished anything else or been spinning or buying anything new this week so I have no goodies to share this time.

Where’s my bookmark?

I finished David Mitchell’s Back Story last weekend and really loved it. Like I said last week, I find him a really funny person and I just loved the insight gained from this book. Right now, I’m reading Seven Seasons of Buffy which is a collection of essays about the TV series Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I loved this series when it was shown on TV and have a number of similar titles exploring the culture, philosophy and underlying themes to the series. It’s a really interesting collection of essays by a wide variety of people who have studied Buffy or were just huge fans. It kind of makes me want to watch it all over again – or at least my favourite episodes.

Family Life

Zoe started back at school this week and today celebrates her 7th birthday. I really can’t believe she is 7 already. She is no longer my little girl but is growing up so fast. We took her and 6 friends out for food last night which was a big success and she’s had a lovely day today, both at school and at home. I’m always surprised after the six week holiday how easily we slip back into the school day routine but it’s all be so far, so good. Eloise is now even more excited to be starting nursery/pre-school next Monday morning as well – I just hope they are ready for her!

 

Leave a Reply

