Life With Yarn

Back again

Posted on: October 9, 2013

OK, so it’s been a while since the last post but I basically spent all of September working on paid-for knitting which I couldn’t talk about/post pics of. I finally finished last Wednesday and after taking a day off for my hands to recover, I’m back to working on my own things again. I like sample/paid for knitting but my own WIPs end up severely neglected and I don’t like that.

Off the needles

Firstly, I got a pretty major project off the needles. I finally finished my Mandala shawl and, in my not so humble opinion, it looks amazing!

Image

That is my king size bed it is blocking on, just to give you an idea of the size of it. I’ll be honest, I have no idea where I’m ever going to wear this and if I did, I’d have to wear it folded in half because it’s so big and then you’d not be able to see the patterning. However, I do not care. I finished it and it is amazing. Zoe suggested I use it as a table cloth and whilst that’s a slight possibility, the way my children drop food whilst eating, it’s not going to happen any time soon! 

As well as this, I did 2 pairs of gloves for my daughters:

Image

 

Image

The top ones are for Eloise (yes, I ran out of pink yarn!) and the bottom ones for Zoe. They’re just a basic glove, I measured their hands and then knit to fit. I’m hoping they’ll last until spring – last year, I had to replace 3 fingers on Zoe’s gloves because of holes. I’m not sure what she does at school to be so hard on them!

On the needles

Last month, I cast on Starling by Cecily Glowik MacDonald, intending to knit it for a Teal-tember knit-a-long. But I only got a few rows in and wasn’t entirely happy with it. I ripped it out this week and then ummed and ahhed about casting it on again. We’re heading into the cold weather and I’m not sure a laceweight cardigan is really what is needed now. However, I decided to cast on again and did a quick gauge swatch (not something I always do, bad knitter!) and was happy with the fabric I was getting. I’m only 6 rows or so in and I’m in no rush on this so I might cast something else on as well.

Because it’s getting colder, I want to work more on my Sock Yarn Blanket and I did 3 squares last night. I think I need to get into a regular routine on this – a set number of squares a week or something otherwise I’ll still not be finished for next winter.

Christmas knitting

I’ve got a couple of Christmas presents lined up for 2 of my sisters – Owls by Kate Davies and the Austin Hoodie by Connie Chang Chinchio – which I bought yarn for last week. I think I might cast on Owls soon because I’ve been working with lace and sock yarn so much recently that bulky will be a nice change. I also plan to make some socks for my husband and something for each of the girls. I think that might be the extent of the Christmas knitting this year – don’t want to end up knitting like a crazy lady for all of December and not sleeping!

It just fell into my bag!

This is my excuse for impulse yarn and book buying. As well as yarn for Christmas presents, I also picked up some sock yarn from my favourite LYS Ring-a-Rosie:

Image

 

This was a total impulse purchase – I went in to get the yarn for Owls that I’d had put aside and came out with this as well. I also bought some Louisa Harding Grace Hand dyed from Black Sheep Wools

Image

It was reduced from £9.95 to £3.95 per skein, so I bought enough to make a top for me. It would have been rude not to!

I bought some patterns as well, including Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitting Without Tears and a couple of circular shawls. What can I say? I now have the need to make more circular shawls!

Family life

Eloise has settled into nursery really well, although she is shattered each afternoon. She’ll probably get used to it just in time for half term in a couple of weeks. We had our first parent’s evening of the year for Zoe last night to see how she’d settled into Yr 2 and the teacher had no problems whatsoever. She’s doing brilliantly in all subjects, but especially maths (or numeracy as they call it now) and should have no bother with the SATs next spring.

 

Tags:

3 Responses to "Back again"

Wow – that circular shawl is AMAZING. I am in awe.

Wow! Credit to you – what an beautiful shawl! That is amazing. Also thanks for sharing the link to Black Sheep Wools, I’m very interested in using more British wool so this is a good start.

Wow, that’s amazing! What a sense of achievement you must feel. I love the two tone gloves too, no-one else will have any like that. X

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 457 other followers

Photobucket

Recent tweets

