Life With Yarn

A stitch in time (review)

Posted on: November 4, 2013

I recently took A Stitch in Time: Heirloom Knitting Skills by Rita Taylor out of the library. It was published earlier this year and is priced at £14.99. I’ve become very interested in the history of knitting recently and was looking for more information about the history of knitting and stitch patterns used.

After the introduction, the book is divided into sections focussing on different types of stitches and provides a little historical introduction to each section. There are also 12 patterns included which use some of the stitches in the book. The 6 sections are: textured stitches, twisted stitches, raised stitches, cable stitches, lace stitches and colourwork. The patterns are both written and charted.

There were some stitch patterns that I really liked and hadn’t really seen anywhere else before. However, some of the stitch patterns were worked in very dark wool – the lace and textured stitches in particular – and this made it a little tricky to get a really good idea for some of the stitches.

Overall, I really liked the history parts of the book but I felt a lot of the stitch patterns could be found elsewhere – such as in Barbara Walker’s books. The exception to these were some of the gansey patterns. I liked that the patterns included ideas for alternative stitch patterns.

I’m not sure I’d buy this brand new but certainly if I saw a 2nd hand copy at a reasonable price, I’d pick it up to add to my knitting library.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 457 other followers

Photobucket

Recent tweets

